Not open for further replies.

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com
Why did the bookseller not take this to the islands people if as he claims "It was for the good of the island".

When there was a problem with fish stocks, the book-seller wrote an article for the local committee in order for it to be resolved.

Why on such an important issue, does he act alone without consulting anyone, especially after seeing how upset Gus was, after all as the bookseller keeps telling us, this was for the good of the island.

Moral high ground ? more like the swamp.

Y'know, I'm not actually a writer, I'm a token artist they let hang around here. (Since it's also been brought up, I never heard of Ms. Gliori beforee this thread)

Something you keep saying keeps confusing me.

Since when are books written by town committees?

Why would this book need to be put to the vote of the local community?

You keep saying the people involved did not go to the townspeople and ask them to adjudicate, but why should they? Ms. Gliori and her publisher were kind enough to help the island but that doesn't mean they should let the islanders take control of the book.

I was under the impression that people generally do not have veto or editorial power over books written about them or their home territories.

So your repeated comments about why the islanders were not more involved seem to me beside the point.

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
somewhere between 1870-1916 -- Tobermory: by Saki famous talking cat.

2010 -- Tobermory distillery, realizing its distillery cats were becoming local legends in their own right, redesigns its sign to incorporate Tobermory (now deceased) and Ledaig (the ginger tom)

2011 -- Tobermory cat FB page goes up & Tobermory cat picture book is commissioned, independently of each other

2012 -- the catflap heard 'round the 'net.

So WHAT IDEA is it that you think was taken?