50 Shades of Grey?

gingerwoman

Registered
Reaction score
Well I have a Masters Degree with honors in English Literature and I liked it. :p
I did not get bored. I've only read the first book though. But I wanted to find out why Grey was fucked up and I liked all the fun first person voice and the college excitement and the Tess of the D'urbeville's first edition etc....
The worst things about the book is that she has the heroine describing herself while looking in the mirror in the first paragraph which is a classic "NO". And that the characters are supposed to American when they are so very very British. She should have just set it in London. Would that have decreased sales though?
I lol at all the talk of sex and fetish. There isn't even any sex until half way through the book! It's really not that racy. Your average thriller practically has that much sex in it these days, although probably without the whip.

Last edited:

Shane D

Registered
Reaction score
Well I have a Masters Degree with honors in English Literature and I liked it. :p

Congrats on the education?

I did not get bored.

Do you read romance novels?

I lol at all the talk of sex and fetish. There isn't even any sex until half way through the book! It's really not that racy. Your average thriller practically has that much sex in it these days, although probably without the whip.

I agree there was not very much sex at all. I am really surprised that women like (love?) this book. Of course what I don't understand about women could fill an ocean.:D

Shane D

gingerwoman

Registered
Reaction score