• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Present Tense is bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DVKirste

Destroyer of Worlds
Registered
Reaction score
I have taken up present tense third person recently. I find myself comfortable with present tense but I've heard often that it is frowned upon(for lack of a better phrase)

Why is this?

StephanieZie

Trust me, I'm a doctor
Registered
Reaction score
I sure hope not, my entire MS is present tense!

No, I don't think it's bad. There are some people who don't care for it, but that's true of anything. It tends to be associated more with books aimed for teens, in my experience, particularly present tense first person. Present tense third person is kind of rare, but if you write it well, there's no reason it can't work.

Dennis E. Taylor

Get it off! It burns!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I don't think it's frowned upon the same way that "show don't tell" is frowned upon, for instance. It's just one of those things that some people don't like, like prologs or cursing.

I've never heard anyone say "I don't like 3rd person past tense", but I know some people don't like present tense (I'm one of them).

Wilde_at_heart

υπείκωphobe
Registered
Reaction score
As I've said to plenty of others, for me it acts like a magnifying glass exposing any flaws that I'd be more likely to over look in traditional past tense.

Having said that, there are instances where it works very well. IMO, it's best for rather surreal or dreamlike stories. A good example is the Night Circus.

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
If it's frowned on, someone ought to tell Hilary Mantel (both her Booker Prize winning novels where written in first person present tense.)

kkbe

Huh.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kkelliewriteme.wordpress.com