Does Horror need a slow start?

Brandy

I swear by my pretty floral bonnet
Registered
Reaction score
Hi all! I need help. I am writing horror for the first time (historically I've written fantasy and thrillers), and I cannot nail the start. I started of jumping into the action, and then pulled back so that readers could get to know the characters first and have a chance to care about them, but now it feels way to slow to me. Add to this that I'm writing YA which I feel like usually likes things to happen more quickly. At what percent of the book do you usually introduce your first spooky element and/or does the first body drop?

gtanders

Registered
Reaction score
Website
leovaughn.com
I'm no expert, but reading horror occasionally, it seems to me a slow build is fine, as long as the first creepy hint comes early (and the hints continue). I'm of the opinion that a novel should signal its genre within the first scene. Since the first scene also has to build the characters, that genre signaling shouldn't be too intense, just a hint.

Hope that's helpful. Cheers! :)

Jinks

Drifting on the Currents of Music and Nightmares
Registered
Reaction score
In my current WIP, my first death is in the first chapter, though it was a random character that none of my MCs know. My first major kill is probably a fourth to a third of the way in. I did hint at spooky elements between those scenes.

Reactions: Brandy

Brandy

Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but reading horror occasionally, it seems to me a slow build is fine, as long as the first creepy hint comes early (and the hints continue). I'm of the opinion that a novel should signal its genre within the first scene. Since the first scene also has to build the characters, that genre signaling shouldn't be too intense, just a hint.

Hope that's helpful. Cheers! :)
Very helpful! I think the idea of just providing a "hint" in the opening will keep me from going too overboard. Thanks!

Reactions: MaeZe and gtanders

Brandy