It's good that ducks are small: construction misadventures

Brigid Barry

Under Consideration and Revising
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
(I am deliberately being dry and self-deprecating, something I do to get laughs when I've frustrated myself and golly have I frustrated myself today)

There are lots of critters at my house and I build all of their houses. Over time the designs have improved as I learn from my many, many, many mistakes and find things that need work. A few weeks ago I got three new ducks and despite procrastinating as long as I could, it was time to build them a house.

Things I am not good at but I try real hard
1. Designing structures
2. Calculating angles
3. Figuring measurements so all the pieces work together.
4. spatial something something

Things you need to be good at to build stuff:
1. Designing structures
2. Calculating angles
3. Figuring measurements so all the pieces work together.
4. Spatial whatever

Instead of being good at those things, I use screws. Specifically construction screws with the star bit. Very helpful when you have to take something apart several times because you have to keep cutting it down...

Speaking of which, everyone knows "measure twice, cut once" but where's the wise saying about making sure your boards are oriented correctly before making angle cuts? When I messed that up (on all eight pieces because why stop and think BEFORE I cut everything?), I lost about an inch and a half of height off the house. But ducks are short so it's okay.

Then somehow the side pieces are too short on the inside. Shhhh. I am going to pretend that I did that on purpose so I "have room to put hardware cloth down". If anyone asks, that's the story. Besides, ducks are short.