Tips for a 10 minute Writer's Conference pitch session

MrPinot

Registered
Reaction score
I am attending the Los Angeles Writer's Conference this weekend and have signed up for two 10 minute pitch sessions with two different agents. It's my first time doing this and would love some advice on how an agent prefers these types of things to go. I don't want to be all business, but I also don't want to waste any time with chit-chat. My initial plan is to tell them a bit about myself and give a brief synopsis of the book's plot. Then explain why I think this would appeal to readers. Do I need to share the same info that we do in query letters such as comps? Thanks!

Reactions: Lime-Yay

Woollybear

Registered
Reaction score
It will go faster than you expect. The advice is to have a pat 5-6 minute pitch and leave 2 minutes before and after for questions and niceties. More or less.

Depending on the agent, of course.

I decided to skip this year, but a friend of mine is going. Have a great time!

ETA please keep us updated--I'll be curious if the 2 agents request fulls, if you run the gauntlet of 'writers got talent' (it's trial by fire! but educational) and all the rest.

pebbleg

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I went to a similar conference and wrote about my experience here!

I did a few pitches too. I usually started with a very small talk, and then jumped straight to my pitch. It’s important to practice your pitch out loud, and not read your query letter verbatim, because I find that (in my case at least) some written sentences sound unnatural when spoken out loud. Note their reaction / body language and slow down if needed. It’s not as scary as it seemed, and if you practice enough and let your passion shine through, it will get smoother and easier.