Best Places To Guest Post

JohnFigaro

Registered
Reaction score
Hey Yall,

I'm new to Absolute write and like many of aspiring writers I want to get my work in front of an audience. My question is, who here has a blog?
And, Do any of you guys guest post?

Sincerely John

slhuang

Inappropriately math-oriented.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.slhuang.com
Yup, I started blogging specifically to promote my book. I hardly ever post about writing, though -- I mostly post about things that I think people who would like to read my book would also be interested in, on the theory that if they like reading my blog, they'll like reading my book!

About guest posting -- I've invited three different people to guest post on my blog, none of whom have taken me up on it yet, but all of whom have said they want to at some point when they think they'll have something to say that would fit well on my blog. I'm SUPER picky about whom I would ask to guest post, because my blog is my brand and my thoughts and I'm implicitly endorsing anything posted on it. All of the people I've asked are people I know and am secure would write thoughtful posts that would add to my blog in wonderful and positive ways, and there won't be any awkward conversation about editing their posts.

*shrug* Some people are less picky. I think it depends on how you feel about your blog space and how closely it connects to your brand. Jim Hines said something similar once about giving people quotes for their book covers -- he wanted to be careful about not endorsing anything too far from his own brand (i.e., too racy/violent), even if he liked it, because he was afraid his (younger) fans would see his endorsement and assume the book was appropriate for YA readers.