View Single Post
Old 08-17-2006, 05:10 AM   #37
realitychuck
Hack Writer
 
realitychuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Schenectady (really)
Posts: 204
realitychuck is a glorious beacon of lightrealitychuck is a glorious beacon of lightrealitychuck is a glorious beacon of light
Airleaf Publishing/Bowker Book Club

Oh, I know they are a scam. I got a letter from them the other day (real postal mail, not an e-mail), talking about their new "Bowker Book Club."

Yes, they use the name "Bowker," including the paragraph, "Founded in 1872, Bowker is the biggest, most pretigious name in publishing. Bowker is also the parent company of booksinprint.com and bookwire.com, two of the five websites that will feature your book's reviews."

I note that they did NOT say that Bowker has any involvement with this Bowker Book Club, other than featuring reviews. I'd be very surprised if they have ever even heard of this.

They're offering a ten point program:

1. A telemarketing program to bookstores.
2. An e-mail campaign to 500,000 opt-in book club members
3. A comprehensive book review by Bowker.
4-6. Featured position on the home page of www.bowkerclub.com, www.airleaf.com, and www.bookatron.com
7. One 10-minute radio interview on a nationally syndicated AM/FM radio show.
8. "Bowker Book Club" stickers for all books.
9. Ten face-to-face meetings with feature film producers and directors about your book.
10. Placing your book in 10 retail stores.

Ten whole stores. I'm overwhelmed.

It only costs $3300.

And it will include more services, at no additional charge, to be announced later.

I've sent an e-mail to Bowker to see if they want to do something. I'm guessing their trademark lawyers might be a bit concerned.
__________________
...and the man at PA has just bought a new car with the profits he's made on your dreams. . . .

Last edited by realitychuck; 08-17-2006 at 05:12 AM. Reason: format fix
realitychuck is offline   Reply With Quote