Do the MCs have to be antagonists?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tailcoat

Hugger of Kittens
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not very experienced with writing romance so I'm confused about this. Some points I've read:

• their external goals should oppose each other to drive plot (then they can perhaps solve their internal issues and reach a compromise)

• another blog says that such a compromise is an unsatisfying cop out so it doesn't make sense to have external goals in conflict since ideally, only one character should achieve that goal.

• they can work together but run into some emotional conflict (ex. one is overprotective, while the other is overly independent)

I'm sure there isn't one set way to create the proper tension, but I'm wondering if I've objectively cast the wrong character as an antagonist. There are no actual bad guys in my WIP so far-- I just pictured my two heroes, who fall in love, trying to win over a third stubborn character, the most logical antagonist.

Last edited:

VoireyLinger

Angel Wing Fetish
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.voireylinger.com
So you basically have three protagonists and no antagonist? Which, BTW is perfectly fine. There doesn't need to be a 'baddie.' You need a strong plot and a conflict to interfere with the relationship, not necessarily another person to fight against.

When i'm looking at the main conflict between the romantic interests, I ask myself why a relationship between the two (or three) of them would never work, and then I push them steadily toward that one thing that will drive them apart. Personally, I like to get them comfortable, let things just feel perfect, before I rip their souls to shreds.