Press release distribution

Splodge

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find anything when I tried to search through here and I've asked Google...

I've just started my own writing business and am starting with the copywriting side, because that's my background. However I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to press releases. In my old life we had a grumpy press team who were very precious about their jobs. So I have experience in writing releases but not distributing them.
As I'm just starting I also don't have any contacts.

I've been asked by a client to write and distribute a press release for a very interesting new product. He wants it to go to magazines and newspapers, and I don't want to use any of these eletronic sending distribution services (mainly because of the cost and I don't know if they work?).

I've already told him I can't guarantee publications publishing the release, but I really want to do a good job.
I'm going to be researching appropriate publications, and I thought I would contact the editor (or whoever should be contacted, depending on the publication) first to introduce myself and ask about sending over the release. Then try my best to write the most engaging, interesting release I can to catch their attention!
Obviously I've quoted my time for all of this research and contacting so I will be paid for it.

I would love to get some feedback from other freelance writers, if anyone has any experience in this. Is this the right way to go about this or should I try something else?

Thanks!
Splodge - who is having a wobble

WriterBN

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.k-doyle.com
When I used to write and submit press releases (not freelance, but during one of my corporate employment stints) I found that editors/PR people who knew me picked up the release, while others didn't.