How Successful Are R & R's?

Undercover

I got it covered
Registered
Reaction score
This is my first time doing an R & R for an agent. The other two former agents I had in the past liked it as is (other novels.) This is a brand new one of mine.

Basically she said she "really loved" MOST of my manuscript, but that there were some major issues. The main one was that the ending, although she thought the killer reveal was a nice twist, she was disappointed in other things dealing with the book and that the ending felt rushed. Anyway, she urged me to revise and resubmit to her. We talked it over (ideas of how to better the ms) and she said they were all good ones and that she can't wait to get it back when I'm done.

So far I enhanced it with over 7K words and I have about 80% of it done and will probably have it finished and send it to her by next week. But here's the thing. I am really doubting myself. What if she doesn't like it? Would she ask me to revise yet again or pass?

So my question is how successful are R and R's? Have any of you gone through this with much luck?

kaitie

With great power comes
Registered
Reaction score
It all depends. It's possible that you still aren't quite up to what she's looking for and she passes, or she could ask you to do another. She could think it needs more work but sign you anyway (my agent did). She might love the revisions and sign you immediately.

Basically, it means you're close, but it's still not a guarantee. Do your best and hope for the best, and know that you've done well to get this far, and then try to find a way to occupy yourself so you aren't checking your email every five minutes for the next month. :)