Wordpress questions

MattJPike

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.mattpike.co
Hi all - newbie here.

Alleycat has suggested I start this thread after having a wordpress question or two. Hopefully this can act as a gateway for all wordpress inquiries.

I'll kick things off, shall I? :)

I'm jumping to wordpress after building my own website for the past 18 months - with the website landscape changing so much - mobile adaptive etc - I feel my time is better spend on the content rather than the container.

Anyways, I'm wondering if anyone is using wordpress and have a them they can recommend for authors. Something that can house an landing page for individual books, as well as series, plus other info and a blog.

Most themes I've encountered don't seem to translate very well to an author's needs.

Obviously a free one is ideal but paid is fine if it does the job right.

Cheers,
Matt

melindamusil

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
First - are you using Wordpress.com or Wordpress.org?

IMO, having landing pages for books, series, and other info has less to do with the theme and more to do with just creating a "page tree." You create pages and subpages, and connect them as needed.

Ex.
You have a page called "a series of awesome books", which is the title of your book series.
Under that you have sub-pages called "a neat book", "a neater book", and "an awesome book" - the titles of the books in the series.

Focus on the content. All your concerns are easily managed in the wordpress settings. It's easy to get caught up in worrying about your theme, but the best theme in the world will fail if it's not backed up with solid content.

MattJPike

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.mattpike.co
First - are you using Wordpress.com or Wordpress.org?

IMO, having landing pages for books, series, and other info has less to do with the theme and more to do with just creating a "page tree." You create pages and subpages, and connect them as needed.

Ex.