How soon is too soon to start spreading 'the word"?

jkellerford

YA author with a flair for fantasy!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
jennykellerford.wordpress.com
I have a YA fantasy novel coming out in 2016. How soon is too soon to start getting the word out? How does one find their target audience and get them interested?

I really need help with this marketing stuff. I do have an active blog, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, but I'm lost.

Some 'marketing' gurus I've read lately say start promoting a year in advance of release date. Any hints on things to do that will pique interest?

Right now I feel like Dr. McCoy talking to Captain Kirk: "Damn it, Jim, I'm a writer, not a marketer."

Samsonet

Just visiting
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a marketer either, so my advice is probably useless...

But to me it seems like it'd be best to start marketing around the time people can actually buy the book. If it comes out in a month or even two months one can wait for it... but a year later? Will anyone even remember it?

Of course, like I said, I don't really know how it works either. But that's my guess.

Christabelle

Registered
Reaction score
There's a book I want to read that comes out in June. I just found about it, and I'm already annoyed that I have to wait 6 months. If I ere you, I might mention that my book is coming out and do a bit of early promotion a year before, but nothing heavy. Waiting for books is not my forte.

Julia Joy

Registered
Reaction score