Researching books similiar to yours in the query...

stargazer11

Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone: Before I get to my questions about searching for an agent, let me briefly tell you about myself. I am a first time author who recently completed my first book. It took me two years to write and edit, and I am very proud of my work. Two Months ago, I started the query process after months of rewriting it over numerous times. Like most writers, and I hope 'most writers', I do not have a referral; nor do I know how to get a referral. So I decided to take the path most agents will tell you to do: Research other authors whose work is similiar to yours, then query that agent. Sounds good in theory, right? Not so much for my case...

After spending weeks at the library, tossing books over my shoulder checking through the acknowledments, I found about ten books similiar to mine. I queried just about all of them so far, and with much dismay... no luck. They either send my back a form rejection letter, or they don't respond at all. By the way, most of them do not respond... Since I don't have a referral, I thought that by doing it this way, like all agents suggest, this will work in my favor just as good as a referral, but its not. I am starting to realize researching books similiar to yours is a stasis quo answer all agents give to writers when they start the query proccess. But it seems to fail... Why would an agent want 'another story' that is similiar to a past client they represented before?

That's like saying to an agent: Hey... my story is just like Harry Potter. And since you took J.K. Rowlings book, it only makes sense for you to take mine. But appartently, agents don't seem to want similair works they represented before. They consider it 'over and done with'... So whats the point of doing research of similar books to yours if it doesn't work??? By the way, my story is not like Harry Potter. I used it as an example.