Chapter style - POV vs Event

Status
Not open for further replies.

slingerland

Absolute newbie
Registered
Reaction score
Good morning! I've had to take a break from one of my projects, and now I'm coming back to it. I have a question that has no right or wrong answer, but I'd like to get some opinions, please.

Background: the WIP is a mystery suspense. The novel revolves around an FBI agent who is in disgrace, a dead witness (who is still alive but hiding from the FBI) and a Russian emigre trying to get away from his KGB past.

My question is how to group my chapters. I've been working with having each chapter be from both a single character's POV, and for a discrete period of time or event. But to accomplish both goals, I'm ending up with very short chapters, 10-12 pages, sometimes as short as 5. I know a suspense should be a fast-paced read, but it's becoming very granular.

Here's an example: the first major plot point occurs over a 24 hour period starting with the first chapter:

• Chapter 1 - (FBI agent POV) The Russian is on trial for money laundering. Major tension between the FBI and WITSEC, because the key witness has found proof of a mole, but can't identify whom. Courtroom battle between key witness and defendant. The trial is halted due to inclement weather (ice storm.) But the defense is suddenly acting as if it has already won the trial.
  • Chapter 2 - (FBI agent POV continued) The key witness is at the safe house. Psychologist tells FBI agent the family is under huge emotional strain. Points out the witness and the wife are carrying thousands of dollars in cash in case they have to run.
  • Chapter 3 - (FBI agent's partner POV) We learn the main character's partner is the mole. After main FBI character leaves, he is planting bugs through the safehouse. But when he switches them on.... BLAM! They're explosives. House blows up, he's killed, family killed.