Working on the Sequel - How Much Should be Explained?

Status
Not open for further replies.

andiwrite

Registered
Reaction score
Hey guys! :)

I'm lucky enough to have the opportunity to pitch a sequel to my publisher next month. I'm writing a rough draft now. This is my first attempt at a sequel, and I'm wondering how much of the setting (same as in book one) needs to be explained?

Should I assume that people who are reading the sequel have already read book one? The situation with the characters is coming across naturally I think, but when it comes to describing the setting, there are moments where I feel like I'm basically repeating similar descriptions that can be found in book one.

What do you think? Is it safe to assume that my readers will already be somewhat familiar with the setting, or should I try to describe everything in a new way? I obviously will need some description, I'm just not sure how much. I don't want to bore the reader if they already have a visual in mind.

This is contemporary romance, if that matters.

Thanks!

Mr Flibble

They've been very bad, Mr Flibble
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
We couldn't possibly do that. Who'd clear up the m
Website
francisknightbooks.co.uk
Sequels are tricky

I think basically you should never assume anything. Add setting as you did in the first -- as much as is needed for the story you are telling . This story, not the first book's. Maybe develop he setting by showing parts you did not in the first book

It is hard. But hells, you can always go back and tweak when you've finished your draft. Write your story for now. Then go back and look at how much the reader needs to know to understand the story you are telling now -- in this way it's no different to the first book

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com