Speculative Fiction -- genre defining

stephen andrew

Write, write, and keep reading
Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I had always considered the term speculative fiction to be a broad term that would encompass any fantastic or sci-fi elements in a story. However, yesterday I saw it listed on a publisher's website as its own thing, alongside science fiction and fantasy. How would you differentiate between science fiction and fantasy and speculative fiction, or would you?

WriterLibrarian

Registered
Reaction score
Will definitely be following this thread, as I was planning to market my current WIP as YA speculative fiction.

Becca C.

Registered
Reaction score
I'm far from an expert, being a contemporary YA writer, but to me it seems that "speculative" means sci-fi/fantasy elements, but more literary than genre style writing. But I don't know for sure.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
I see speculative as anything not real world plausible. As such it also includes much of horror, some literary (magical realism etc) and so forth. Thus I would see them as indicating they would also consider books that are speculative but not sf/fant.

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
IMO, Speculative Fiction is the umbrella genre of all non-our world fiction, with Science Fiction and Fantasy being subsets. Some people prefer Speculative Fiction, and there are definitely subgenres that wouldn't necessarily be classified as fantasy or science ficiton, like magical realism. So the agent might be covering all bases.

~suki

eparadysz

Registered
Reaction score
I think speculative could also encompass alternate history that wouldn't necessarily fit into SF or fantasy.

IdrisG

the wicked wit of the west
Registered
Reaction score