Optioned Screenplay

ejr

Registered
Reaction score
I am a professional actor, branching into writing as a second career. I just received an option offer for my first screenplay -- which turned out to be a much lower rate of compensations than I expected. This will be a non-WGA feature and I am not represented by a literary agent. I am just wondering what the norms are in terms of the whole package (i.e. the initial payment giving the producer the right to raise money on my script, my percentage of the budget when it goes into production, and any other residuals or royalties when the film is sold to various markets.)

I am not expecting it to be as profitable as acting (where union contracts apply and I am represented by one of the big agencies in NYC). But what they are offering was so far below even my lowest expectations (especially when you consider how much work I put into the script) I would like to have some sort of baseline for comparison.

Thank you.

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
Options are often token amounts, especially on spec scripts, and double especially with a non-WGA project.

A literary agent wouldn't be much help, unless the screenplay is attached to a novel series.

In the case of a novel series, or at least in the case of mine, the option was a little under ten percent of the agreed upon purchase price, renewable after a set number of months. Full purchase price isn't paid out until the movie is in pre-production, or 3 months from the start of filming, or whatever terms your attorney (please tell me you did this via attorney) negotiates for you.

You aren't getting any of "the budget" in terms of what's raised after the film goes into production. You get the purchase price and whatever net points might go along with it. Though net points are pretty much non-existent since most movies don't show net profits on paper. No net profits, no profit share for those with net points.