Should I kickstart & self publish or go through the agent-publisher route?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian Boyko

Registered
Reaction score
I'm planning on writing a non-fiction book called "American Politics Observed from the Mandatory Minimum Safe Distance." To sum it up, while most political books on American politics are focused on either people and personalities, or on policy, this book would take a look at 1) How policies are decided in American politics, 2) How policies should be decided in American politics, 3) How to get from #1 to #2.

So, here's my situation:
  • This isn't my first book. My first book was self-published, and while not a success, it shows I can complete the full book.
  • I am very likely to get a forward from Lawrence Lessig (an expert - THE expert, really - in this field) because of my friendship & work with him on the Mayday PAC
  • I have no experience with getting an agent or publishing, but I *do* have experience with social media promotion.

If I went the Kickstarter route, it would be used to hire a professional editor and to get a cartoonist to illustrate key points. (Zach Weinersmith of SMBC-Comics.com has expressed interest.)

The problem is that while I think there would be interest in the book, I don't know if publishers would *see* that there would be enough interest to not only pick up the book but also to promote it.

What I may do is self-publish this one using kickstarter and then when I write Book #3, whatever that is, it'll be done through traditional publishing, having "proven" my marketability if this is a success...

What do you guys think?

girlyswot

Registered
Reaction score
Website
myromancereviews.wordpress.com
"The problem is that while I think there would be interest in the book, I don't know if publishers would *see* that there would be enough interest to not only pick up the book but also to promote it."