First Time Considering Online Publishing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Winfred

Registered
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm new to online publishing and haven't written such in years so please bear with me but...

Alice Xavier wrote:

"-70% royalties (if you price your stuff between 2.99 and 9.99)"

I have a 28,000 word novella I'm thinking maybe to KDP publish and thought... no way would I charge $2.99 for it, more like maybe $1.50. I suppose it's hard to quantify... but a huge difference in royalties below $2.99 as it drops from 70% to 35%!

1. Is that because Amazon doesn't make enough money below $2.99?

2. Does $1.50 sound fair for a Novella?

I mean to me I could say "well $2.99 is less than they pay for a loaf of bread" or what they pay for 2 liters of pop etc. and I took a long time to write my story etc. so maybe try at that price and make 70% instead.... I figure my novella takes 2 hrs to read, about. I read this website article from a lady who helps writers with editing etc and she said you should have $1,000 to really get your story out there even on KDP, and get it formatted nicely, edited well, nice cover, advertising or putting at top of the heap etc. Wow!

3. I'm a starving artist and thought I could do okay doing it through KDP for free, right? Is that realistic of me to think that?

I don't have MS Word though, only Open Office. KDP wants Word so I'm in trouble that way.

4. Is there any way around that as Word cost a lot?!

I saw great covers designed for $5.

5. How can the graphic designers survive on only $5 to design a cover?

I can't figure that out. I figure I better at least have a nice cover and could put my story out there then for $5....

6. Is the reality that there are a million and one other writers and my story would be otherwise lost in the big stampede if I don't spend more than $5?

Thanks for any input.

Sincerely, Winfred0000

Last edited:

byron100

Registered
Reaction score