Who else is extremely reluctant to show their writing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Basenjichaos

Registered
Reaction score
Is anyone else extremely shy about showing their work to family members or others? If so, how did you get past it? I think a bottle of wine may be consumed prior to my admission: "Honey, there's something I need to tell you. I'm a writer. I know I didn't tell you this ten years ago when we married, but it didn't seem important at the time, because I wasn't writing much back then. But if you look at my browser history, please know the google searches I've been doing on stabbings and such are in no way reflective of my feelings for you. I'm plotting, all right, but not against you."

Jokes aside, can anyone related?

Osulagh

Independent fluffy puppy.
Registered
Reaction score
I don't show my writing to family and non-writer friends because I either never get good feedback or it'll just waste their time. Just no. They know that I am, but that's as far as everything goes.

As for showing to writers and people in the business, I have to make sure I know either the people in the critique group or the community online (and that the community is somewhat protected like AW's Share Your Work section).

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Totally with you. I don't show my writing until it's finished, and then I only show it to the next person who needs to see it. I lurve the editorial process - but I can't imagine showing a work in progress around to family and friends because that would seem - well - awkward. What could they say, except "Oh. Wonderful - really." ?

(I mean, they could say other things, but there's every chance I'd burst into hot, salty tears and it wouldn't end well).

Dedsquirrl

experimental food product
Registered
Reaction score
I absolutely relate.

My wife thinks all my notebooks are Fantasy Football contingencies.