• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

In defence of slow beginnings

Status
Not open for further replies.

lise8

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My first line, my first paragraph, heck, all of my first chapter needs huge amount of work. One of the main critique about it is that it is too slow, not enough in the thick of things.

It may be worth mentioning here that the story is mainstream contemporary, aimed mostly at female readership.

So here I am studying beginnings in books that I love, and in other books too. I am also reading novels for my leisure and learning combined. I started reading a novel due to the compelling blurb. It has one of those 'in the thick of things' beginning. The story is well written, the characters are nice, I want them to be happy, I related to the surroundings, to the plot, so far so good.

But I am mourning a slower beginning, one through which I get to meet the main character in his normal life, so that I get to know him as he is before something different happens to him.

Do any of you feel that way when the beginning feels too rushed, too sudden, too 'in the thick of things'?
Or is the trend truly and firmly 'throw me in or I stop reading after page 6'. I had compliments from 3 beta readers for the round-about way that I introduced my main character, but maybe I just found the few like minded persons that exist, as most people here seems to disagree... What is your take on slower beginning???

chompers

Registered
Reaction score
I agree, sometimes a slower beginning makes more sense. And other times the author needs to plop us straight into the action. Genre can also play a part on how that's used.

alexaherself

Wordsmith and shoechick
Registered
Reaction score
Or is the trend truly and firmly 'throw me in or I stop reading after page 6'.

Yes.

The story starts where the story starts (i.e. not where the background starts).