Webcomics: How long is too long, and other questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

starlinguncaged

Registered
Reaction score
Hi AW-Comic peeps~

So this is going to be my go to thread for a while as I start working on my webcomic.

Some preface about myself:
I'm an avid webcomic reader and lover. I've been reading them for going on 12 years now, and it's been a long time dream of mine to finally create my own. I wish I could say that this one is my first try, but alas it's probably about my 5th now. I'd point you to a link to see these other failed projects, but the sad truth is there aren't any, as I've never actually made it out of the conception/planning stage before. There's been one or two that got pretty close (I started drawing a couple pages) but...eh, I was a lot younger and things like school easily kept me "too busy" to make much headway; or at least any effective headway. And I've had the awful habit of burning out my excitement/motivation on a project too quickly. (The woes of being a "conceptualizer" type, I'm sure).

My preferred genres are fantasy and adventure both in what I read and create; though, I enjoy comedy, drama, sci-fi, and historical fiction as well. I suppose you could call me pretty escapist in what I enjoy. And yeah, I am. But I'm a strong believer in this:
"Fantasy reveals the truths reality obscures." -Unknown

That all being said, what about this time is going to be different? How can I guarantee that I'll actually make this one? Well, I'm tired of not finishing anything. I want to prove to myself that I can do it, if nothing else. I need to. But I'm definitely going to need help along the way! And that, of course, is where you lovelies come in ;)

So my first question as I begin, is in terms of webcomics, how long is too long?