A Dangerous Novel

jmichaelfavreau

Smells like bacon
Registered
Reaction score
So this may take some explaining so stay with me. I am currently writing my second novel and within the next year or two I will be done. I have already been kicking around ideas for book 3 which will be a departure from books 1 and 2 which were science-fiction/horror. Book 3 will be about a terrorist group made up of people who are living in/citizens of the USA and are plotting to carry out a terror plot using crude chemical weapons. The book will follow one person from inception of the plan to the aftermath of his actions.

Now for the question part. I work in a field where I have a lot of experience with what I will be writing about and that will be great for an authentic and very believable story. The problem is this (and if I'm totally off base, please tell me): I don't want my book, which would theoretically take the reader through the entire process of forming a terrorist group, making and then setting off weapons, to be an "Anarchist's Cookbook" for a real group of crazy people to do the same.

Does that make sense? Has anyone else been hesitant to write/publish a book that others could use as a blueprint for bad things?

asroc

Alex
Registered
Reaction score
If that worries you, can't you just leave out key parts of the process or alter them?

My father is a great fan of Tom Clancy and he says in one of Clancy's books terrorists turn an old nuclear missile into a working bomb for a terrorist attack. The author intentionally describes the process incorrectly so that no one could use the book as instructions.

jmichaelfavreau

Smells like bacon
Registered
Reaction score
If that worries you, can't you just leave out key parts of the process or alter them?