"Let's face it: pretty white girls sell."

Status
Not open for further replies.

Missus Akasha

I'm a monster. I'm a saint.
Registered
Reaction score
I am an aspiring YA fiction writer with a passion of writing black female characters as my leads. However, I also am a magnet towards negativity because of this. Currently, I am writing a paranormal story set in La Belle Epoque era in Paris involving exorcisms, demons, angels, and dark magic. My lead character is American with her birth town being New Orleans. She is the product of a placage between a Creole woman and a white French planation owner. From the start of the story, she has been in Paris for several years now living with her deceased mother's older brother.

Everyone that I have let read what I have written so far loves it. However, their love is laced with worry. For instance:

"This could really be a bestseller if you changed Aubrey to white girl."

"Aubrey is 3/4 white and 1/4 black. She is practically white anyway. It's not like changing her race will alter the storyline. Just make her the product of an affair between a white commoner woman and a French plantation owner."

"Nobody wants to read about a mixed girl trying to help save the world. Just make her white. Let's face it: pretty white girls sell."

"I doubt there were lots of black people trotting around Paris back then. Let's try and be realistic. Make her white."

"No literary agent or publishing company will want this because Aubrey is black. It's jacked up, but it's true."

I try not to let these comments hinder me from finishing this WIP, but I wonder if there is some kind of true to it. I go to bookstores and look at the YA genre aisle. All I see is pretty white faces staring back at me on book covers. All books with POC leads are segregated into different aisles such as "African American fiction", "Asian fiction," and "Hispanic fiction." Even if the book falls within the realm of YA.