What counts as a good backlist?

SierraLee

Boldly Nervous
Registered
Reaction score
In many threads writers say they earn most of their money through having a strong backlist. I haven't seen as much discussion about what that actually means in numbers. To me it seems pretty clear that people with 50-100 (or even more!) titles available have a strong backlist, but are there any trends at lower numbers?

I'm new to all this, so just about anything would help me. If there are blog posts discussing statistics those would be great, but sometimes personal experiences can be more helpful. Has anyone noticed a shift at 10 titles, 20, etc? Are works written in separate kinks or subgenres basically separate backlists that don't reinforce each other much?

I know there won't be hard rules on this, but I'd still like to hear people's experiences. I'm personally thinking of numbers for self-pubbed erotica, btw, but I don't mean to say that people can only talk about that in this thread.

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
I've been spying on researching various AW authors in erotic romance, science fiction, fantasy, and a few other fields - as well as authors on other online platforms - for four years now. Some people are happy with a backlist that conservatively earns them $10K to $15K a year. Others appear to be making from $65K to $150K (or higher). Most of those in the latter group will have at least 50 books (novels and novellas), not counting shorter fiction in anthologies or magazines, or repackaged collections.

My personal definition of a 'good backlist' would be one that gets me back up to the after-tax equivalent of $32,000 per year, which was my best year in commercial publishing. That's less than $3K per month, but given that my average royalty from online e-book sales is going to be from $2.70 to $1.80 per copy, I have a lot of sales to make during a month.