Getting paid for travel

starrykitten

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I have been working on a proposal for a nonfiction book. In order to write this book, I must visit a faraway country and stay there for a while.

There is no way I would be able to afford that travel on my own. I don't have a credit card either and can't get one because of my bad credit.

What I am wondering is how travel expenses work when they are necessary to the writing of a book. If I got a publisher interested in my book, is there *any* chance they would front the travel costs? I couldn't afford to pay and then reimbursed, so I'd pretty much need them to cover everything up front.

I realize that would be a huge gamble on their part, but I just have no idea if it's possible.

So how does it usually work when you incur travel expenses during the writing of a book?

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert in non-fiction and others will be able to give you a far more define answer, but if I was a publisher I'd outright not pay for travel and stay expenses for a--possibly untested--writer to write a book because they have no real experience in the place they're travelling to. Would you?

starrykitten

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert in non-fiction and others will be able to give you a far more define answer, but if I was a publisher I'd outright not pay for travel and stay expenses for a--possibly untested--writer to write a book because they have no real experience in the place they're travelling to. Would you?

That makes sense and is pretty much what I was thinking. Though if it matters, the book isn't about the place itself but will include a lot of interviews with certain people who live there, people with whom I have already published other interviews.

Helix

socially distancing
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
snailseyeview.medium.com