Why does everyone hate voice-over?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bottomlesscup

“Never use voice-over.”

It’s one of the big non-rule rules. Sure, everybody says it with a bunch of qualifiers, but everybody says it: the gurus, the readers, and the generous “Script Pages” snipers at DD.

Well, I call bullsh1t.

I started thinking about the issue because I’m writing a script with VO, something I’ve never done before. It doesn’t need VO. I’m not even entirely sure why I used it. The words came easy and felt right.

I put some pages up at DD a while back and while it was generally praised (including the VO), everybody still had to get the anti-VO barbs in. “I hate voice-over, but…” etc.

Consider this: of imdb’s top 250 movies, at least 45 of them use VO. (I haven’t seen all of them and didn’t count incidental VO – like Obi-wan’s “Use the force, Luke.”) Nearly 20% of the greatest films of all time use this technique, yet it’s almost universally reviled.

What’s the deal? Why does everybody hate voice-over so much?

I’m guessing the first answer will be: “Because new writers misuse it so much and write crappy voice-over. “ No doubt about that. But you can say the same about dialogue, action lines, structure, character, and subtext. I don’t see anyone telling nubes not to write dialogue.

If they’re misusing the technique, they should be advised in how to use it properly, not told to abandon it. I reject the notion that VO is a “big kid toy” that new writer’s should keep their hands off. If amateurs seek to become professionals, they should aspire to master all the tools of screenwriting. To my mind, that includes voice-over.

If it just sucks, well, let’s face it: if you can’t write a decent VO, you probably can’t write a decent screenplay. This rule is of no genuine help to a naïve writer.