Status
Not open for further replies.

ConnieBDowell

Registered
Reaction score
Website
bookechoes.com
Hi, all!

I'm just getting into reading graphic novels and I could use some recommendations to help me get more grounded in the genre. I'd love to hear what you all think are must-reads, especially those aimed at the YA or MG age groups.

Thanks!

Flutterlight

Registered
Reaction score
I'd say the obvious MG graphic novel to read is easily the Captain Underpants series. It's a lot of potty-humor, which kind of goes without saying.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Maybe Road to Perdition; although it's not MG, it does feature a younger character.

U2Girl

I can sell you anything
Registered
Reaction score
Neil Gaiman's "Sandman". I re read it every couple of years and still get something new out of it.

JQ377

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.tumblr.com
I remember really liking the BONE series. I only read the first Amulet book but that's because I couldn't find anymore. The art in that is great. I think they're turning it into a movie.

bladestalker

Registered
Reaction score
I'd reccomend taking a look at your local library. Mine has hundreds of GNs.I've always liked the POWERS series by Brian Micheal Bendis.Teh Death of Retro Girl is the first and best of these.

ChimeraCreative

Been there, Done that.
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a little late to this party. However,

Bone by Jeff Smith is fantastic.
Runaways by Brian Vaughn is stellar reading for younger folks getting introduced to the Marvel Universe.
Invincible by Robert Kirkman is responsible for many kids getting hooked on comics, especially boys.
The Astounding Wolf-Man by Robert Kirkman is cute, but not as addictive as Invincibles.
Chew by John Layman is very colourful and kitschy.

lastlittlebird

avem narrans
Registered
Reaction score
Website
lastlittlebird.blogspot.com