Why is fantasy traditionally set in medieval times?

pedroj012

Registered
Reaction score
Would be cool to read more about fantasy in ancient Greece, Africa
WWII, etc.

I'm fairly new to fantasy, so I'm definitely open to suggestions there.

Myrealana

I aim to misbehave
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.badfoodie.com
Most likely, fantasy is set there because the big daddys of early fantasy set their worlds in places that were much like medieval Europe, with knights and kings and stone castles.

I think the market is well ripe for new fantasy settings. How about pre-Columbian Americas? Arabian Peninsula? Mughal Empire?

Osulagh

Independent fluffy puppy.
Registered
Reaction score
Tolkien.

Well, modern "hard" fantasy as in Epic or High fantasy is based off of Tolkien. Which is weird because Tokien was heavily influenced by nordic mythology--namely, Beowulf.

But then that's what many people think of when they think of pure fantasy. Before that it was more about a lot of folk myths and fairy-tales, and nowadays there's more movement in contemporary fantasy.

Mr Flibble

They've been very bad, Mr Flibble
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
We couldn't possibly do that. Who'd clear up the m
Website
francisknightbooks.co.uk
I think the market is well ripe for new fantasy settings. How about pre-Columbian Americas? Arabian Peninsula? Mughal Empire?

Aliette DeBoddard has an Aztec set series.

For Arabic inspired fantasy you could started with Saladin Ahmed. City of Silk and Steel by the Carey family is also awesome.

Those are just off teh top of my head. Can't think of any Mughal fantasy, but I suspect there is some

I love new settings too*, but it has to be said the old ones sell

*I've gone with Renaissance Italy just lately. Still European, but a very different era

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com