Need Advice on Author photo

RJ_Beam

Registered
Reaction score
I have been offered a contract with an indy publisher to publish my first novel. In the packet of items I need to return to them is a request for a photo to go onto the book jacket...

Seeing how I am a real cop writing police mystery stories what should my photo be?

My Dept hates having their name/symbols used so I can not be in uniform.

So do I...
- Head shot close up with squad car light bar in background (no logos visible)
- Full body shot with just polo shirt and cargo pants and gun on hip. Kind of a plain clothes look so again no logos. With plain background.
- Chest up in a suit and tie. Just a professional look with a plain background.
- Something else I did not think about...

Zeddo

Talk to the hat
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allanjemerson
I like the idea of the head shot with the squad car light bar in the background. I imagine the text beneath will mention your police credentials, so the photo would reinforce the text.

Don't care for the plain clothes with gun, or the business suit (I don't think I've seen any fiction author photo where the writer is wearing a suit.)

heyjude

Making my own sunshine
Registered
Reaction score
Third! Sounds like a great photo.

And congratulations!

wonderactivist

Registered
Reaction score
Website
luciesmoker.wordpress.com
Congratulations! Traditionally you need a head shot, period. When promoting the book, they will send the image to newspapers and media. The one you mention says a lot without words. Very effective. Just make sure it is professional quality.

Bergerac

Reading & Writing
Registered
Reaction score
I'm going to disagree with everyone else. A vanity headshot for a sworn/former sworn officer doesn't do much for those on the fence in regards to buying your book. Your face isn't what your initially selling, it's your expertise/experience which add verisimilitude to your novel.