Publishing: US vs UK for Fantasy

Reaction score
Hello, all!

I am a newbie writer working on my first novel of publishable (I hope!) quality, so while submitting to agents is a way off in the future, I do have some concerns. Two things that are relevant:

1) I am an American expat living in Central Europe,
2) I am writing epic fantasy, potentially a trilogy, and the word count, while still flexible, seems to be in the 150-160k range.

Based on that, the UK market, with its seeming preference for longer novels, and closer geographical proximity (and thus, less money spent on airfare to promote my novel) seems to be a better fit for me. On the other hand, I have absolutely zero ties to the UK, so choosing it as my first entry market seems a bit odd. Plus, I will probably be returning to the States at some point in the future, so I would honestly prefer to be published in the US first.

What are my chances, realistically, of publishing a novel of that length in the US? Should I bite the bullet and go with the UK? I think it worked for Peter V. Brett, but that was years ago?

Treehouseman

Registered
Reaction score
Ah ha! This may not be your call actually.

An agent will sell the book to a publisher, and may sell World English language rights, which will mean it will be released everywhere simultaneously. (This happened to 2 of my friends who had the same UK agent - their books were released everywhere English was spoken, pretty much on the same day. The only difference was covers.)

I know there's the case of chopping it up and selling it bit by bit to different regions, but I heard this loses sales. It kind of dilutes the initial marketing push.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
I am a newbie writer working on my first novel of publishable (I hope!) quality, so while submitting to agents is a way off in the future, I do have some concerns. Two things that are relevant: