• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Cheap, Professional Front Cover?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wampuscat

Recovering adjective addict
Registered
Reaction score
You might take a look in the self pubbing forum, if this doesn't get moved there. And maybe the Art & Design forum.

Jack Oskar Larm

Just me and my guitar
Registered
Reaction score
Hi,

I am looking for a cheap, professionally designed book cover. Something simple black and quite simple. Can anyone advise where I can get one done and the typical cost?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/0007538030/?tag=absowrit-21

I'm a graphic designer and I would be happy to consider designing something for you, pretty much pro bono (well, very much). If you suddenly make it rich, then you might consider paying something, but I'd be happy to just give it a go and just have a credit as designer in the publication.

If you're interested, PM me and we can talk details.

NicaCurt

Registered
Reaction score
You can try this forum or you can try places like fiverr or 99designs if you want to interact with a designer. For a DIY approach, you can use free software like GIMP to make something.

Just be careful when you make contact with a designer. Read their terms carefully and see how many mockups and revisions they are willing to do for you. Also, make sure you have full ownership of the final design.

dangerousbill

Retired Illuminatus
Registered
Reaction score
Here in Tucson, we have a glut of artists, and the street price for original cover art is $100-$200, depending on the complexity.

I'd take Jack up on his offer, but work out terms in advance. Your book may never make ten dollars, or it may make $100s of $1000s of dollars, and handshakes rarely survive the larger numbers.