The deal with mailing lists?

Jazen

Registered
Reaction score
So I've seen mailing lists mentioned before, but I'm confused on what they are and how they benefit the author.

I mean I know 'what' they are, but I guess I'm asking how do you get one set up, especially if you're a newbie, how do you connect with people to send them to?

I'm still learning how to make social media work for me, so any input from those that use them or have used them in the past would be grateful.

Also if this topic is already covered in a thread, my apologies. Feel free to show me where to go.

Michael Davis

Registered
Reaction score
Anytime someone contacts you about your books, or Facebook contacts, or sites that have provided 4 or 5 star reviews of your stories, or etc, add them to the list. When you have a new release, email a copy of the announcement but keep inside the message vs an attachment. Many will not view emails with attachments because of viruses.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
In the UK at least you're not allowed to add people to your mailing lists unless they specify that they want you to. They have to be asked if they want to opt into your list, and they have to answer yes to that question. So you can't just add everyone who emails you: if you do, and any one of them objects, you are at risk of losing your facility to send any emails at all.

BeeGem

The one with the gemstone eyes
Registered
Reaction score
In the UK at least you're not allowed to add people to your mailing lists unless they specify that they want you to. They have to be asked if they want to opt into your list, and they have to answer yes to that question. So you can't just add everyone who emails you: if you do, and any one of them objects, you are at risk of losing your facility to send any emails at all.

This is my understanding too.

K.B. Parker

I've lost my mind
Registered
Reaction score