• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Series in reverse chronology?

Status
Not open for further replies.

greendragon

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.greendragonartist.com
I am a new author. While I've had two travel books published, I've got no novels published yet. I've written four. The first was my parents' love story, currently submitted for consideration with a publisher. The second, third and fourth are part of a historical fiction series.

Here's the catch - they are in reverse chronology.
The first novel is set in 1846. The second is 1800, the third is 1745. They follow a family who is part of a legacy of a special brooch, given to the family generations ago by a Druid. It has some mystical powers, but no one is sure why or where precisely it came from.

The first novel follows Valentia, and her quest to find her family back in Ireland (she's in Ohio) and the brooch. She finds her great-aunt Esme.

The second novel is Esme's story, and her grandfather, Eamonn is part of her tale.

The third novel is Eamonn's tale.

I've already got a fourth and fifth planned, with Eamonn's father, Turlough, and Turlough's grandmother, Maeve.

I don't know why I'm going backwards, but that's how my muse is insisting upon doing it. As each novel goes back, more and more is revealed about the brooch and it's connection to the Otherworld.

My question: my publisher thinks that, unless the 'hook' between the novels is a huge 'hook', it won't be enough to bring people backwards. She thinks that, for a new novelist like myself, it's not commercially viable. She wants me to write all the books and publish them chronologically. Or change it to a purely fantasy world, not historical fiction. I offered to let the first trilogy be published in chronological order, and then go back to the next pre-trilogy. And so on.