Does something have to happen?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maythe

Registered
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to writing and reading Flash and I've just rough-drafted a piece in which not much happens. A young woman sits in a tree, watches some badgers and goes home when the badgers run off. Woo, the excitement. :p I'm aiming to capture a mood, rather than have a real 'story' going on here. Perhaps it's a little more like poetry than a short story.

Do you think that's acceptable in Flash Fiction or should something definite happen?

LeadHead

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this is the general consensus but I think it's fine if not a lot happens. As long as you're trying to impart something to the reader whether it be a feeling, a mood or excitement in the form of a story then I think anything goes really.

Spell-it-out

I'm gonna give all my secrets away
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to writing and reading Flash and I've just rough-drafted a piece in which not much happens. A young woman sits in a tree, watches some badgers and goes home when the badgers run off. Woo, the excitement. :p I'm aiming to capture a mood, rather than have a real 'story' going on here. Perhaps it's a little more like poetry than a short story.

Do you think that's acceptable in Flash Fiction or should something definite happen?

Hi Maythe,

Something happening doesn't have to be physical, maybe your character learned something from watching the badgers? :D I know, sounds crazy. I think stories are stronger if something or someone has changed during the course of it. That's just my opinion.

Myrealana

I aim to misbehave
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.badfoodie.com
It's not really a story if nothing happens. It's just a scene.

The story can be small or large, but there needs to be a point where something changes - or is given the opportunity to change and does not.