Submissions, Queries, and Other Stuff

summontherats

Generally More of a Lurker
Registered
Reaction score
Website
fairieszombiesandqueries.wordpress.com
Hey there! I have a really basic question. Just tell me if I should direct this to another board.

I've decided to start submitting short pieces regularly. Since this is W1/S1, my goal is to submit at least once a month, at least until I get the hang of this.

The problem is that I have never done short pieces before. I've written novels and queried agents, so the process isn't foreign to me, but it's different. I've got a Duotrope account now and am looking around, and I have no idea what the norm is for submitting.

I know big publications make you query. But it looks like low-paying opportunities don't? Most seem to just want a submission with nothing else (like this one, which is manuscript + bio paragraph) Some are unclear, like Spellbound, which only mentions manuscript formatting rules.

I always try to follow the rules, but lot of these aren't super explicit. What's a good rule of thumb? Just submit with nothing else? Include a paragraph about yourself? Do a cover letter?

Project Deadlight

Registered
Reaction score
There's no one way to do it, each particular market has different guidelines. Choose the highest paying market that best fits your story then work through the pro markets, the semi pros, then the tokens. The market you mentioned doesn't state preferences, as you say, so I'd use Shunns manuscript formatting in these instances (google if you're not familiar.)

summontherats

Registered
Reaction score
Website
Makes sense! And hm. That makes me wonder if I'm underselling myself by going right for the token markets just because I've never published anything before. Interesting.

But if they don't specify otherwise, do you just email the manuscript? Nothing else?

pdichellis

Murder! You want fries with that?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
murderandfries.wordpress.com