Going Hybrid

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauralam

Moonshade
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a trade published author and have just decided to diversify and self-publish some longish short stories relating to my main series while I finish off a few manuscripts. I'm just getting started on the initial research and commissioning cover artwork.

I'll be blogging about the project (first post went up today - there's a link in my signature) and also occasionally posting in here about the progress and process.

I'm looking forward to learning and seeing the difference between self-publishing and trade publishing - what works for both, what works better for one, if lowering the price of the short stories will impact the main series, etc.

I've been poking around in here the last couple weeks but will start lurking less.

*waves*

Deleted member 42

I'm a trade published author and have just decided to diversify and self-publish some longish short stories relating to my main series while I finish off a few manuscripts. I'm just getting started on the initial research and commissioning cover artwork.

I'd suggest double-and-triple checking your contract, including things about options, derivative works, formats, geographic areas, and characters.

If you have an agent, get said agent in on the loop, and talk to the publisher either way—some publishers, especially in SF/F and Romance, have cooperated enthusiastically in similar self-publishing projects, because derivative sales which don't cost the publishers anything often lead readers to purchase the backlist.

lindyhop

Registered
Reaction score
Website
setterby.weebly.com
Lauralam, going hybrid is my long-term (very, very long-term) goal as well. I'm sure a lot of other folks here are considering that route, too. Definitely keep us in the loop! And thanks!
Also your books look awesome. :)

SBibb

Registered
Reaction score
Website
sbibb.wordpress.com