Agents: What Proportion of Authors do You Sign Through Unsolicited Queries?

pedroj012

Registered
Reaction score
I've been reading more and more that most writers find representation by meeting agents at conferences, or by meeting other writers and getting referred. I guess I'm just wondering if I should stop trying to blindly query, and just focus on meeting people at conferences. Thanks!

Barbara R.

Old Hand in the Biz
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.barbararogan.com
I've been reading more and more that most writers find representation by meeting agents at conferences, or by meeting other writers and getting referred. I guess I'm just wondering if I should stop trying to blindly query, and just focus on meeting people at conferences. Thanks!

I'm sure you'll get answers from working agents; but when I was a literary agent (for 14 years), I accepted maybe 1% of unsolicited submissions. I know that sounds awful, but if you eliminate all the hopeless, clueless subs, the percentage increases dramatically.

It's always nice to meet the agent in person at a conference or elsewhere, but it doesn't impact on the agent's decision about whether or not to offer representation. That's based on two factors: how much they liked the work, and the chances of selling it.

I've seen many of my writing students find agents through cold querying, including one whose agent ended up selling her YA novel to Random House. If it seems to you that writers are having more luck at conferences, that's probably because writers who go to conferences are a self-selected bunch who are more serious about writing and publishing than your average weekend scribbler.

Here's an in-depth interview with literary agent Gail Hochman (long-time president of the AAR) on what she looks for in new clients. (It's in two parts: first part's about her life, part 2 is the nitty-gritty for writers.) You'll notice that a firm handshake and winning smile are not on her list of requirements.

Sage