Votes: 2 50.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.

nomdeplume

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, newbie here in need of honest feedback. I'm plotting a possible UF and in looking for a different source for my MC's "magic" I came across the idea of have her descend from Middle Eastern followers of Zoraster perhaps mixed with some lesser-known European folk magic.

The story quest takes her from NYC to Europe and I need her magical roots to be based in Europe and I thought the idea of acknowledging Arabic influence on Renaissance Europe would be an interesting new pov for readers. However, my MC is a black chick from Brooklyn (ahem, like myself) and I am concerned about cultural appropriation.

Is this a "when in doubt" leave it out situation or "Hey, if the world can accept sparkly vampires, I can do what I want" situation?

As a reader, writer, or POC, how do you feel about this?

Thanks!

Last edited:

Helix

socially distancing
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
snailseyeview.medium.com
It's an interesting idea, but you'll need to do a lot of research on Zoroastrianism. It's not an Arabic religion, but a Persian one for a start. I'm not sure how many Zoroastrians there are in continental Europe, but there is a community in the UK. (Freddie Mercury was Zoroastrian.)

ETA: None of which answers your question. I'd proceed with caution!

Wilde_at_heart

υπείκωphobe
Registered
Reaction score
I don't see how cultural appropriation should be an issue, provided you do a lot of research to get all the facts right.
Such as it being Persian, which is Indo-European anyway... Parsis in India practice a version of it to this day. As for it's influence on Europe, I'm not sure there ever was one. Another Persian religion - Manicheanism - was fairly widespread throughout Europe at one point until Roman Catholicism took over. The prophet Mani borrowed heavily from Zoroastrianism as well as other religions around the 200s and later.