Richard III's skeleton identified

angeliz2k

never mind the shorty
Registered
Reaction score
Commonwealth of Virginia--it's for lovers
Website
www.elizabethhuhn.com
...in a parking lot/car park. I know they've suspected the skeleton was his for a while. The DNA analysis just confirmed it:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leicestershire-21063882

Some people are saying a separation of 17 generations is too great to be certain about the identification, but the context seems to make up for that. Right place, right date, scoliosis, wounds that point to personal hatred of the man . . . It adds up, in my eyes.

Last edited:

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
Did anyone see the follow-up programme on More4 last night? Very interesting info on the archaeology [I am biased though, as Leicester is where I am studying archaeology :D]

I still don't understand Mary Beard's stance on this though. It was a Cambridge University archaeologist who was brought into study the curvature, and even he agreed it was Richard!

SpinningWheel

Registered
Reaction score
Does that also mean you are in favour of the Leicester burial then, GothicAngel, despite it going against his wishes and the wishes of his closest living relatives? ;)

Is Mary Beard being sceptical? In the beginning her objections were just to the way it was being treated as such a massive marketing opportunity. (I don't agree with her on that though - in an ideal world it would be nice not to have to, but smaller universities are always going to feel embattled and I don't blame them for extracting the biggest possible benefit from it.)

gothicangel

Toughen up.
Registered
Reaction score
Does that also mean you are in favour of the Leicester burial then, GothicAngel, despite it going against his wishes and the wishes of his closest living relatives? ;)

Well, I can argue that there is no historical record to back that up. :D