How much sex???

Nancyleeny

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am working on two works at once. One is a cozy mystery with a teacher MC, and a crazy sidekick. She is married, but hubby is in the background. The other one has a female detective MC, she is single but damaged a bit by what she has seen on the job. Ex-drinker, she is not comfortable in social situations and dating without alcohol. She's very conscientious and caring.

I need a subplot, so I decided on a surgeon friend - and they will cross paths after his aunt tries to set them up. This is a different genre than the cozy, and to be honest, I just read and now write, so I don't pay attention to all the sub- genres. So how much sex is expected in a mystery that does go into character quite a bit?

I am a teacher and principal in training, and I planned to write the cozy series under my own name, but i have to be careful here. Anything over PG ( and I am not comfortable with explicit, "he did this and she did that" anyway) I would write under another name. I wouldn't be ok writing Janet Evanovich scenes in my real name.

Knowing that, what do you think readers generally expect in this slightly less cheery genre?

Thanks,
Nancy
I know every reader is different, I'm just trying to pick your brains for opinions.

Relayer

Registered
Reaction score
I have no idea about the particulars of your genre. That, frankly, is your job to know before you write in it. That being said, sex for sex sake in any genre besides erotica is just bad or pandering writing imo. If the sex is necessary to the story or character you have no choice but to write it in anyway you are comfortable with. Saying you are a teacher - have a real life and job - that you worry about as you write, is worrisome in itself. Leave it at the door or don't write in that genre or don't write the scene. It seems what you are asking is -