Injurious July 500 words/day thread--all genres welcome!

heyjude

Making my own sunshine
Registered
Reaction score
You know the rules. Word count and cheering/and or consolation only. Maybe some chocolate. :Sun:

How did you do in June? What are your goals for July? How's the WIP coming? Is your favorite team doing well in the World Cup?

Scratch that one. Go to the Life of Crime and Chocolate thread for that one. :D

Ready... set... go July!

Marlys

Resist. Love. Go outside.
Registered
Reaction score
[peeking in]

So, the goal is 500 words per day, huh? Can I play?

I've been working on my WIP for about four months. The first 40K words came tumbling out in two months. Since then...17K. Okay, part of that is that I do revise as I write--so the more I write, the more I have to edit along the way. But I'm hoping having a place to check in will reduce the number of days when I don't write anything at all.

Starting the day at 57,073.

Saoirse

Mi verkas
Registered
Reaction score
Website
erinkendall.wordpress.com
Did fairly okay, but my wordcounts suffered b/c I've been editing my novella for an antho. I hope to get more actual words in this go around. I'm aiming for 30k on the main WIP, Grave Touched.

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
June went better than expected, in a way. I got my third draft done, got some feedback on that, and did a fourth draft as well. And I didn't pare it down below 130K...but I got really close. :)

For July, I will need to make revisions based on notes I expect to get on the fourth draft. I'd also like to add another 10K to the sequel. I am circling around fragments of a plot (the character development stuff is pretty easy, since I know where they're all headed), but I still don't have a big, coherent hook. So maybe my July goal should be to come up with more of a plot for the sequel.

Onward!

Forbidden Snowflake

I'm quite put out.
Kind Benefactor
Registered