...Mirroring?

Rina Evans

Registered
Reaction score
So, I might not be so well informed about what erotica writers do and I haven't been around. This is my first time hearing about something called mirroring in another erotica community.

Mirroring means essentially duplicating a story, changing key bits to fit a different market (change that vampire to a werewolf, make it m/m or interracial), and then publishing it under a different pen name. I can't believe people actually take such an assembly line stance to writing erotia. It seems completely dishonest and it's self-plagiarism. They also talk about copy-pasting sex scenes between stories.

How do you feel about this? They say, since the reader likely won't know, it doesn't matter and it's cheap so if they do find out, they can return the book on Amazon. Does this stance make sense to you? Do you use mirroring?

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
Sounds a bit of a get-rich-quick scheme. Short term this approach might sell books rapidly, but you can't keep repackaging the same book or three with different pen names indefinitely. And long term success means promoting you work. Multiple pen names means tons of promotion which means no writing time which means no new material.

While I'm sure there are folks who have done this, I imagine it's not especially successful over an extended term. Better to write and promote original content and build a backlist and platform.

Anna_Hedley

Fuelled by tea and crumpets.
Registered
Reaction score
It seems risky? If someone notices the plagiarism (not knowing it's the same author), they'll likely report it as plagiarism. Then either the author would be forced to come out and say exactly what they've been doing, or come up with another elaborate scheme to pretend someone else has been plagiarising them.