Proper format for an email query?

Madison Ready

Registered
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a newbie, a first-time poster, and about to begin querying agents.

When doing so in email, is the standard business letter format (agent name/address, date, salutation) considered 'old school' and a show stopper?

Do you open formally, or simply 'Dear Agent' and then roll right into your query?

My gut instinct is to use the formal method, but I would hate to have my query disqualified, or passed over, simply because someone didn't want to read their own address and the date.

Any thoughts/help on this would be most appreciated.

Many thanks,
Madison

heyjude

Making my own sunshine
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome: to AW, Madison.

Yes, start off with "Dear Agent" first. Many agents are reading on their phones or mobile devices--don't make them wade through that other stuff to get to your query!

ETA: Lots of good info here, in our Share Your Work pages under Query Letter Hell. Password is vista. You need 50 posts to share your work, but read through these, especially the stickies, and you'll get lots of good information.

Tromboli

Hopelessly Hopeful
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.staceytrombley.com
If you mean "dear agent" as in "dear insert agents name here" then yes. But just putting a generic "Dear agent" at the start is a no-no and a turn off to agents. They want to know you did you homework, at least enough to know who you are sending to.

Don't get me wrong, it's good to ask these kinds of questions because there are always quirks and things you wouldn't have thought of that will help, but short of being sincerely unprofessional and/or not following the submission guidelines (things like attaching a document then you won't get "passed over" for anything other than your writing (and/or the market)