Freelancing With Full-Time Writing Job

Audrey Perkins

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a full-time writer for a trade publication. My dream is to be a full-time freelance writer. At this point I don't have the finances or experience to just quit my job and dive straight into freelance writing, but I'm struggling to get started freelancing with my full-time job. Primarily because of my lack of free time during the week.

While I usually have plenty of time on the weekend to write, research, and explore story ideas, I'm worried about getting interviews done during the week, particularly with experts. I simply can't interview an expert in the middle of the day, because that's when I'm working. I'm not even sure about during lunch, because my job has made it clear that they discourage (but can't forbid) freelance writing. Anyone ever run into this problem with a full-time job? Has anyone ever interviewed an expert over the weekend or outside of typical office hours? I've never done this as a freelancer or in my full-time job, so I'm concerned that if I needed to interview an expert for a piece (which, let's face it, a LOT of articles require expert sources) I won't be able to make it happen.

I'm wondering if it'd be better to get into copywriting first, then when I've left this publication, I can get back into magazine writing. Good idea, bad idea?

Any thoughts, comments, suggestions are appreciated!

WeaselFire

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
...my job has made it clear that they discourage (but can't forbid) freelance writing.
Ah, finally got to the point...

You'll have to settle this one on your own. I have never seen or heard of a full-time writing job that frowned on freelance work that did not compete with the hired work.

Jeff

WriterBN

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.k-doyle.com
The question is: Are you willing to risk your full-time job in order to build some freelance writing income?