Contracted in 2013; submitted full MS in September; editor hasn't read it yet

Clairels

Born at sea
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.princessofpirates.wordpress.com
I have posted over in the individual publisher's thread, but haven't gotten much help, so I decided to post something here in hopes that someone who knows the ropes can offer reassurance if not advice. Because frankly, I've never done this before, and I can't help stressing.

I signed a contract in 2013; told them I needed more time to finish the book. I submitted my full manuscript in September.

A few months later, I found out the publisher, which has been around since, I believe, 1973, has been sold. The editor told me she's swamped due to the sale, and that she wouldn't be able to start reading my manuscript until December. It's now March. I've heard nothing. Nor have I received the other half of my advance that was due upon acceptance.

They have announced their fall books on Amazon; including some as far away as January. Mine's not among them.

Obviously, this is my first book. I'm new to this. But I thought I was reasonably familiar with how publishing works. So I need to know: Is this normal, or should I be worried? I have other writer friends who submitted nonfiction manuscripts to other publishers of similar size and reputation around the same time. Their editors have read their books. They have publication dates, they have covers, they have things to show and tell their friends and family. They're able to make plans for release parties for when their books come out. They can move on with their lives.

I worked hard on this book. I cared about it. The idea that it's sitting, alone and unloved and unread, in someone's inbox, makes me sad.

Half the people I told I was getting a book published probably think I'm a liar because I have nothing to show for it.