Must an ending be happy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ArtsyAmy

Registered
Reaction score
For about as many years as I've been working on my novel, I've been wondering if I should change its sad ending to a happy one. I understand that in romance novels, a happy ending is expected. But my novel is literary, and my MC was molested and still carries the scars. As a former psychiatric social worker, I know what that can do to a person, and that in real life, victims' stories often don't have a happy ending in this world.

Someone in another forum today brought up the expectation of a happy ending, which has me wondering again if I should change my story's ending. I just don't think I should--it wouldn't be true to the story. I'm reminded of Law and Order (the original) episodes. Even the mighty Jack McCoy didn't win all his cases. And that's what kept me tuning in and watching episodes until the last second. For me, it's the same with books. But do most readers feel cheated if they stick with a book until the end and don't get their happy ending? I'd appreciate your thoughts.

lbender

Registered
Reaction score
I don't know about most, but I prefer at least some optimism in the ending.

However, many famous and well written novels and stories have sad endings. The Time Traveller's Wife and My sister's Keeper are 2 that spring to mind.

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score
Some readers will say Yes, and some will say No. Depends on how you define Happy or not Happy...

My preference as a reader, endings should have a conclusion to all the questions and conflicts that have occurred during the course of the book and that is what makes me happy.

Anninyn

Stealing your twiglets.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.fivesquids.co.uk
The ending HAS to be logical and satisfying, as suggested by the set-up before it.