Using Twitter to promote a blog

Laura15

Registered
Reaction score
Website
boatsagainstthecurrent.net
Hi. I just wanted some advice on the best way to use Twitter to promote a blog. I only recently started the blog and have just set up a Twitter account for it, but have no idea how to go about getting followers or using it to get people to my blog. I have never used Twitter before (I don't even have a personal account!) but understand the basics about hashtags and such. I'm just not sure how to promote my blog on it other than by posting links to new blog posts with relevant hashtags. Should I just start following bloggers and writers I like and see if they follow back?
Any advise would be appreciated!

Wilde_at_heart

υπείκωphobe
Registered
Reaction score
Add followers, tweet about whatever interests you and have a link to your blog on your profile.

I wouldn't recommend using twitter *just* to promote your blog posts as most people find it spammy. Depending on your blog platform you can send each update to a tweet automatically (though then there are security risks), but make sure to tweet about enough other things too.

It's about engaging people, so don't just follow them, but also retweet, favourite, reply, etc. Though easy does it.

areteus

Registered
Reaction score
If your blog allows it, set up an automatic post link to twitter (and facebook) so that it posts a link everytime you post.

Getting followers is a matter of again interacting with others on there, joining in with discussions, telling your readers the account exists and so on. Can be a slow process...

I'm @areteus if you want to find me on there :)

Quotidianlight

Registered
Reaction score
Website
mayagoode.com
I second everything wilde_at_heart said. I was an early adopter and there is a definate culture to twitter (well actually several) It is easy to alianate people if you don't make a point to interact and became part of the twitter community. Make friends, interact and share your updates.