Building my portfolio

The Package

Cool. I get to write my own? How ab
Registered
Reaction score
I want to be a freelance editor. I have a diploma in "Professional Writing," but the thing's useless. However, I did garner a boat-load of editing experience - it actually seemed like the course was geared toward editing despite its title.

Anyway, I want to build a portfolio, but I am not in-touch with any of my classmates. I really don't have much (I never saved any roughs I received), and I don't know where to begin.

I do remember from one of my classes that a teacher said that taking comments from YouTube and editing them is a good way to show off your talent. However, I'm questioning whether he said, "For this portfolio PROJECT we're working on, YouTube comments are awesome," or if he said, "In the REAL WORLD YouTube comments are awesome..."

As an extra, I read a lot of in-real-life stories (especially the scary ones) on reddit and wondered if taking those and polishing them would be a good way of padding my portfolio. Would that be kosher, or could I get in trouble for that?

So my question is: How can I build a portfolio?

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I want to be a freelance editor. I have a diploma in "Professional Writing," but the thing's useless. However, I did garner a boat-load of editing experience - it actually seemed like the course was geared toward editing despite its title.

Anyway, I want to build a portfolio, but I am not in-touch with any of my classmates. I really don't have much (I never saved any roughs I received), and I don't know where to begin.

I do remember from one of my classes that a teacher said that taking comments from YouTube and editing them is a good way to show off your talent. However, I'm questioning whether he said, "For this portfolio PROJECT we're working on, YouTube comments are awesome," or if he said, "In the REAL WORLD YouTube comments are awesome..."